15th Spring Awards Breakfast

This June, join us and more than 300 friends and partners in public health for a special celebration, as we honor five visionary leaders advancing health equity here in the Commonwealth.

Register now at early bird rate button

The Awards Breakfast is the signature networking event of the year for the public health community to come together, celebrate the achievements of our collective power, and reinvigorate our commitment to promote social justice, and advocate for programs and policies that reduce health inequity across Massachusetts.


We pleased to announce Monica Bharel,MD, MPH Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health as Honorary Chair of the Awards Breakfast.

2017 Spring Awards Breakfast Honorees

(Read more about each awardee here)

Paul Revere Award
Deborah Klein Walker, EdD

Dr. Deborah Klein Walker recently retired from Abt Associates where she was Vice President and Senior Fellow, and has more than 40 years of experience as a behavioral science researcher, public health leader and advocate for public health and social justice. Dr. Walker dedicated her career to maternal and child health and spent 16 years with the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, where she was the Maternal and Child Health Title V Director and Associate Commissioner for Programs and Prevention, and is the former president of the American Public Health Association.

Lemuel Shattuck Award
Dr. Shani Dowd, BA, LHD(hc), LCSW

Dr. Shani Dowd currently serves as Director of the Health Equity Roundtable at Harvard Pilgrim Health Foundation, the charitable foundation of the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care, Inc., a nationally recognized health plan. She also served as Director of Culture InSight, an operating program of the Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Foundation.

jsAlfred Frechette Award
Jen Slonaker, B.A., M.S.W

Jen Slonaker is the Vice President of Education and Training at Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts (PPLM), where she oversees the delivery of high-quality, comprehensive sex education and information to 10,000 parents, youth, and professionals across Massachusetts annually, as well as the Internal Training program for the organization.

Public Health Leadership in Medicine Award
Dr. Matt Sadof, MD & Megan Sandel, MD MPH

Dr. Matt Sadof currently serves as chair of the Pioneer Valley Asthma Coalition. Since 1998, Dr. Sadof has worked to develop sustainable systems of care sdand further medical education for medically and socially fragile children at Baystate Children’s Hospital in Springfield, MA. This work helped to create an asthma community health worker program for children. Currently this effort is part of the Green Healthy Homes Social Investment Bond Initiative to create a regional center of excellence for asthma community health workers for seniors and children. Dr. Sadof also directs 4C, a regional consultative care coordination program for children with medical complexity and social fragility, at the Baystate Children’s Hospital. He serves as an Associate Professor in Pediatrics, University of Massachusetts Medical School-Baystate.

Dr. Megan Sandel is the Associate Director of the GROW clinic at Boston Medical Center, a Principal Investigator with Children’s Health Watch and an Associate Professor of Pediatrics at the Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health. She is the former pediatric medical director of Boston Healthcare for the Homeless program, and is a nationally recognized expert on housing and child health.


 Thank you to our generous sponsors:

Platinum Sponsors


Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors

boston childrens hospitalmghbwh-logo-1EOSPPLM Logo Horz Primary Blue - 500pxBUSPH

Bronze Sponsors

KPMG | Cambridge Health Alliance | Beacon Strategies Group | Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center | Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health | Health Resources in Action | Justice Resource Institute | Massachusetts Medical Society | Association for Behavioral Healthcare | William James College | Harvard Pilgrim Healthcare Foundation

Benefactor Sponsors

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute | Partners for a Healthier Community | Abt Associates | AAFCPAs | Massachusetts League Community Health Centers | BMC Healthnet Plan | BU School of Social Work

Patron Sponsors
Alfred DeMaria, Jr. | Denterlein Worldwide | John Snow, Inc. | University of Massachusetts Amherst School of Public Health and Health Sciences | M+R Strategic Services | Fenway Health | Geoff Wilkinson and Sally Johnson

Thank you to our sustaining Advocate, Bronze and Silver members and partners in public health:

AIDS Action Committee | Association for Behavioral Healthcare | AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals | Fenway Health | Harvard Street Health Center | Health Foundation of Central MA | John Snow, Inc. | MA League of Community Health Centers | MetroWest Health Foundation | Novo Nordisk | Partners for a Healthier Community| Planned Parenthood League of MA